Can words alone Heal?

I thought of what freedom I give words, taking no thought to the endless words I speak…letting them tumble out and landing wherever they may.

Can words alone bring healing?

As a small rudder makes a huge ship turn wherever the pilot chooses to go, even though the winds are strong.In the same way, the tongue is a small thing that makes grand speeches, judgements, assumptions and can act like a wild child unless we take notice to what we are saying.

“The words of the wise bring healing,”

That means the words I speak so freely to others and even to myself  is either bringing hope, encouragement and peace or otherwise. It is so easy to speak negative words that tear down mindlessly.

Who hasn’t felt the sting of words pierce, taking a bit of life from you bringing defeat, at a time when you desperately needed encouragement……

   and yet those who spoke a  hopeful word  that  helped carry you through the day.

Yesterday I was at Home Depot  and picked up some plants, as I unloaded my cart I left it standing there while I put my purse in the car..a lady walked by and evidently thought I was going to leave the cart and drive off [I had considered that]……she said very angrily” are you just going to leave that cart setting there where someone could get hurt’….I was stunned and she just kept mumbling ..talking to herself or cussing me out, I wasn’t sure which…..my first response was to flare back and then I thought , she’s not having a very good day..and the whole scene became a bit humorous..

Then this morning I read..

The words of the wise bring healing.

Wise?? who are the wise?? Those who speak healing words, looking for ways to speak hope and  encouragement to others as well as yourself.

3 thoughts on “Can words alone Heal?

  1. Brenda

    C…soaking this in.. .it’s in the ordinary,everyday…the word picture you shared will stay with me as a reminder! powerful
    ..thank you.

Leave a Reply

