Sifted Grain

Have you ever longed for words to express what a true friend means to you and find yourself speechless?

We spill out words all day long without a thought, so why the struggle. Maybe for fear the feelings won’t be mutual in return and your heart has been sifted grain to many times.

Even as I began to write this evening I can hear the coyotes howl in the dark woods near our home. It sends a shiver down ones spine to hear that noise especially when there seems to be a pack of them. I am thankful to be inside my warm home on this chilly evening, safe and comfortable in my corner office up in the loft. I believe that is the way good friendship is to be, a safe place, bringing comfort from those things that cause “shivers”.

Years ago I found a poem and it expresses well the words that often form in my thoughts but aren’t easily spoken.

Written by Dinah Maria Mulock Craik…(1826-1887)

“Friendship”

Oh, the comfort-
the inexpressible comfort of feeling safe
with a person, having neither to weigh thoughts,
nor measure words, but pouring them all out,
just as they are…
chaff and grain together;
certain that a faithful
hand will take
and sift them–
keeping what is worth keeping
and then with the breath
of kindness blow the
rest away…

Dinah had no idea when she penned this ageless poem more than 100 years ago that it would continue to bring comfort..

I am thankful for the Lord’s undying patience with me…as He continues to make the crooked places straight in my heart that I might reflect more of Him, able to be that “safe place” kind of friend..

Thankful for the “safe place” friends he has brought across my path and even thankful for the “not so safe” friends for they have taught me as well.

6 thoughts on “Sifted Grain

Leave a Reply

